Consultancy and Engineering Awards shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2017 Consultancy and Engineering Awards has been announced today by the Association for Consultancy and Engineering.

From the business categories chosen for overall business performance, to the champion categories, the Consultancy and Engineering Awards are an annual showcase for the best that the engineering and consultancy sector has to offer.

With a high standard of entries across all nine categories, compiling this year’s shortlist was a difficult task for the judges. The winners will be announced at the Consultancy and Engineering Awards Gala Dinner in central London on 7 June 2017 and the event will be hosted by award-winning television news journalist Clive Myrie.

Commenting on the shortlist, Nelson Ogunshakin, chief executive of ACE, said: “The strength of this year's entries is a clear indicator that the future is bright for our industry. Congratulations to all those shortlisted for their remarkable achievements from companies across the built and natural environment sector. At a time when we face a number of political uncertainties ahead, it is vital for our industry to continue to be a backbone for the UK economy, not only providing the best properties, housing, schools, retail and major infrastructure investments necessary for modern life, but also acting as a shining beacon of exceptional talent and innovation.”

Click here to book places and tables at the awards gala dinner on 7 June 2017.

The shortlist for the Consultancy and Engineering Awards 2017 is as follows:

Best UK Business Performance - SME

Lewis Hubbard Engineering
IMC Worldwide
Clancy Consulting
Geo-Environmental Services

Best UK Business Performance - Large Firm 

Mott MacDonald
Peter Brett Associates

Young Professional of the Year

Lisa Rammig (Eckersley O’Callaghan)
Paul Diebel (Mott MacDonald)
Tahira Newaz (MWH)
Ben Freedman (MLM)
Simon Evans (Atkins)
Mannan Akshat (Atkins)

Apprentice of the Year

William Mathew (CH2M)
Nathan McClean (Tony Gee & Partners)
Caitlin Stuart (Troup Bywaters + Anders)
Jordan Laraway (Arup)
George Hart (Arcadis)
Kyle Baptie (Arup)
Bruce Gibson (CH2M)
Millie Coombes (Atkins)
Stuart Hirst (TSP)

Inclusion and Diversity Champion of the Year

Max Fordham
Mott MacDonald
WSP I Parsons Brinckerhoff

Training Initiative of the Year

WSP I Parsons Brinckerhoff
Troup Bywaters + Anders
Hurley Palmer Flatt

Collaboration Champion of the Year

Mercury Group UK
IMC Worldwide
Hoare Lea
Chapman BDSP

Technology Champion of the Year

Davies Maguire
Hoare Lea
Mercury Group UK

Sustainability Champion of the Year

Mott MacDonald

If you would like to contact Andy Walker about this, or any other story, please email