Industry's top bosses honoured at European CEO Awards

Consultancy and engineering leaders from across Europe are celebrating their success following the announcement of the winners of the European CEO Awards 2017.

The annual awards, organised by the Association for Consultancy and Engineering and now in their seventh year, highlight exceptional leadership and business best practice in pan-European engineering and consultancy firms.

This year’s winners were selected from a pool of nominated entries from across Europe by a judging panel composed of industry experts and leaders across the continent and chaired by Sarah Ingle, secretary general of ACE Ireland.

The winners in the five categories of the awards were announced at a gala dinner in London on Thursday 9 November 2017. Judging panel chair Sarah Ingle said: “All our finalists demonstrate the depth and breadth of what industry leaders are bringing to their firms, not just in improving performance and productivity, but also in adding value to their employees and giving back to the community.

“This really highlights the importance of the role of consultants and engineers in the world. They touch and influence every aspect of our lives - from mobile phones, to the infrastructure which shapes and helps our daily lives, to the internet of things. Consultants and engineers make a difference. Our industry makes a difference and we should be proud to recognise, reward and celebrate its excellent leaders.”

Winners of the European CEO Awards 2017 are:

Sterling Award - Patricia Moore of Turner and Townsend 

The judges said that this year’s winner was someone who has taken on a new role as she did in 2015 and since has exceeded all expectations. An outstanding leader with extensive experience in successfully setting up and delivering a number of the country’s most complex programmes and projects. Patricia is also someone who speaks out on industry issues and who promotes the benefits of the sector whenever she has the opportunity to do so.

CEO of the Year Award (Small Firm) - Glyn Evans of Geo-Environmental Services

The winner in this category impressed the judges with his innovative thinking about the use and expansion of IT, which really made his application stand out. A great leader, said the judges, who believes that a company’s staff are their most important asset.

CEO of the Year Award (Medium Firm) - Alfredo Ingletti of 3TI Progetti

A very strong candidate, said the judges. He has shaped and built his firm as the largest Italian independent fully employee-owned engineering company and has also been instrumental in encouraging the company to work internationally. A great leader who looks after his employees, is visible in the industry and who leads from the front.

CEO of the Year Award (Large Firm) - Jens-Peter Saul of Ramboll

The winner has demonstrated significant international executive leadership experience, transforming the company during his first year as a CEO into a truly international and independent and successful business.  

Lifetime Achievement Award - Nicolas Jachiet of EGIS

Jachiet has demonstrated significant achievement over a number of years and also made a key impact on the industry more widely during his time as president of Syntec-Ingénierie, the French business association for consultancy and engineering.

Lifetime Achievement Award - Keith Howells of Mott MacDonald 

Howells has shown significant achievement over many decades and is widely seen as a key figure in the industry in the UK. The judges were impressed with an excellent application that demonstrated the candidate’s strength and experience in the industry over many years as someone who has also shown loyalty as well as leadership, working for his company or its antecedents for 40 years.

If you would like to contact Andy Walker about this, or any other story, please email