Who are the industry’s top bosses? ACE European CEO Awards shortlist announced

Finalists for the 2015 European CEO of the Year Awards have been revealed by ACE. Now in its fifth year, the awards recognise and celebrate the efforts of industry executives who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and business best-practice in pan-European engineering and consultancy firms.

The names in the frame for top awards to be handed out on 12 November are:

  • Jesper Nybo Andersen – Orbicon, Denmark
  • Pablo Bueno – TYPSA, Spain
  • Neil Cooper – MLM, UK
  • Dominik Courtin – Basler Hofman, Switzerland
  • Gavin English – IMC Worldwide, UK
  • Glyn Evans – Geo-Environmental Service Ltd, UK
  • Kimmo Fischer – SITO Ltd, Finland
  • Geoff French – AECOM, UK
  • Simon Innes – Goodson Associates, UK
  • Geoff Morrow – StructureMode Ltd, UK
  • Graham Nicholson – Tony Gee & Partners, UK
  • Bernard Obika – Roughton Group, UK
  • Neil Sandberg – Sandberg, UK
  • Pierre Verzat – Systra, France
  • Steve Wooler – BWB, UK

“Following one of its strongest ever years, the European engineering consultancy sector is undergoing a paradigm shift in terms of technological advancement, customer centricity and client expectation,” said ACE chief executive Nelson Ogunshakin. 

Awards sponsors



WSP Parsons Brinckerhoff



“The construction and economic & social infrastructure service providers are looking to the future to determine which projects are most significant, what investments must be made and which companies can meet these challenges and deliver exemplary skills and expertise where success will be largely dependent on how these firms are managed by their leaders."

He continued: “A wide variety of candidates have made the shortlist this year, a fantastic combination of individuals from small and large organisations who demonstrate the best and brightest that European senior executives have to offer.  Being shortlisted for a European CEO of the Year Award is a testament to having achieved something outstanding in their career and I congratulate them all.

“As chair of judges it will be a very tough task for Flemming Pedersen the first winner of the European CEO Award in 2011 and current chairman of the Ramboll Foundation, and his fellow judges representing organisations from across Europe to select the overall winners.”

The awards are sponsored by Deltek, Coubari, WSP Parsons Brinckerhoff, Matchtech and FIDIC. London’s Deputy Mayor for Transport Isabel Dedring will give the keynote speech at the award event.

The awards ceremony is taking place during the European CEO conference “Looking beyond our industry for inspiration” where keynote speakers and panellists will include business leaders such as  Paul Simpson, Rothschild; Madani Sow – chairman and CEO of Bouygues UK; Fidel Saenz de Ormijana, chief technical officer, Ferrovial Agroman; and Neil MacArthur – CEO of the Arcadis Group. 

For details on how to attend the conference or awards ceremony being held on Thursday 12th and Friday 13th November, please contact Naomi Bari on or call 020 7222 6557


If you would like to contact Jackie Whitelaw about this, or any other story, please email